About the governors

Lavant C.E. Primary Governors

Welcome to the Governors' area of the website. Here you will find details of our governing body and any news related to their work at the school.

We are also currently developing a secure area within this page where the governors will be able to access / share information.

The Governing Board

 All governors are volunteers drawn from the local community with the aim of helping to support the School in providing the best possible education for its pupils.

Governing boards have three strategic objectives in support of the School's development and progress:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

Governors fulfil these objectives in a number of ways, for example:

  • Help form the School's aims and policies;
  • Support the Headteacher and staff in carrying out those aims and policies;
  • Ensure the School teaches the National Curriculum;
  • Set, monitor and review the school budget;
  • Appoint and promote staff;
  • Promote the School ;
  • Act as a link with the local community.

You are very welcome to contact the Chair or clerk about any matter relating to governance of the School - please ask at the School Office in the first instance.

The full governing body meets once each half-term. Committees meet at least once each term.


Our Governing Board (term of office in brackets):

Foundation Governors - appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education

  • Incumbent of Parish Church - Rev Dr David Jarratt (ex-officio)
  • Mrs Ann Shapiro (four years ending February 2022)

Staff Governors - elected by the School staff

  • Mr Adrian King - Headteacher (ex-officio)
  • Mrs Joanna Yelland (two years ending October 2020)

Parent Governors - elected by parents/carers of children at the School

  • Mr Ben Smith (three years ending October 2019)
  • Mrs Melanie Belderson (three years ending October 2019)
  • Miss Rachel Ellams (three years ending September 2021)
  • Miss Sally Steel ((three years ending October 2021)

Local Authority Governor - appointed by the Local Authority

  • Miss Caroline Rickard (four years ending November 2019)

Co-opted Governors - appointed by the governors listed above

  • Mr Chris Hawker (four years ending September 2019) (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs Ann Smith (four years ending October 2019) (Chair)
  • Mrs Lorraine Foster (four years ending June 2021)

Clerk to the Governors

  • Mrs Carol Skeens
There are no associate members.
For 2018-19 we have two committees as follows:
Teaching and Learning:
Caroline Rickard (Chair)
Adrian King
Ann Smith
Ann Shapiro
Mel Belderson
Jo Yelland
Chris Hawker
Carol Skeens (Clerk)
Ben Smith (Chair)
Adrian King
Ann Smith
Lorraine Foster
Chris Hawker
Carol Skeens (Clerk)

Governors' attendance record at FGB meetings during academic year 2017-18:

All six meetings: Adrian King, Ben Smith, Ann Smith, Chris Hawker, Paul Freshwater

Five meetings: Mel Belderson, Joanna Yelland, Lorraine Foster, Caroline Rickard

Four meetings: David Jarratt

Three meetings: Ann Shapiro

Two meetings: Clarie Griffiths

Where governors were unable to attend a meeting their apologies were received and accepted.



Premises/Health & Safety

  • Ben Smith (Chair)
  • Adrian King
  • Paul Freshwater
  • Claire Griffiths
  • Chris Hawker
  • Carol Skeens (clerk)
Attendance record: all three meetings: Ben Smith, Adrian King, Paul Freshwater
Two meetings: Claire Griffiths (apologies received and accepted)
One meeting: Chris Hawker (apologies received and accepted)

Teaching & Learning

  • Caroline Rickard (Chair)
  • Adrian King
  • Jo Yelland
  • Lorraine Foster
  • Ann Smith
  • Chris Hawker
  • Carol Skeens (clerk)
Attendance record: all three meetings: Caroline Rickard, Adrian King, Ann Smith, Chris Hawker, Lorraine Foster
One meeting: Joanna Yelland (apologies received and accepted)
Staffing, Finance & Pay
  • Ben Smith (Chair)
  • Adrian King
  • Chris Hawker
  • Melanie Belderson
  • Paul Freshwater
  • Carol Skeens (clerk)
Attendance record: all six meetings: Ben Smith, Chris Hawker, Paul Freshwater
Four meetings: Mel Belderson, Chris Hawker (apologies received and accepted)
Governors who stood down during the academic year 2017-18 are:
Mr. Paul Freshwater
Mrs. Claire Griffiths

Governors with a governance role in other educational institutions:

Rev Dr David Jarratt is a director of Bishop Luffa Academy Trust, Chichester.

Chris Hawker is a National Leader of Governance - he is a governor at Central CE Junior Academy, Chichester and at Rogate CE Primary School.